Board of Directors

Tim Price Professor Tim Price – Chair

Tim is Senior Consultant Medical Oncologist and Director of Medical Oncology and Clinical Cancer Research at The Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Adelaide. His major clinical interest is in treatment of patients with gastro-intestinal cancer and he is currently involved in an extensive GI clinical trial program. He is Professor at the University of Adelaide and Colorectal Cancer Stream leader for SAHMRI, and has GI translational and laboratory research collaborations with the Bazil Hetzel Institute.
Niall Tebbutt Associate Professor Niall Tebbutt – Deputy Chair & Treasurer
Trained at Oxford University in the UK, Associate Professor Tebbutt has extensive experience in the management of patients with
gastro-intestinal cancer. He has a strong involvement in clinical research and has published over 120 manuscripts. He is responsible for leading GI cancer research at both the Austin and Northern hospitals and holds appointments at Austin Health, Northern Health and the Olivia Newton John Cancer Research Institute.
 John Simes Professor John Simes – Group Coordinator
John is the Senior Principal Research Fellow and Director, NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre, University of Sydney and Director, AGITG Coordinating Centre, NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre. He is Professor of Clinical Epidemiology, School of Public Health, University of Sydney and a Medical Oncologist, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney. John has been a founding member of AGITG and member of the board since 1996.
 Trevor Leong Professor Trevor Leong – Company Secretary
Trevor  is Acting Director of the Division of Radiation Oncology and Cancer Imaging at Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. He is an academic radiation oncologist; actively involved with clinical research programs and has been a principal investigator in numerous phase I/II/III studies relating to gastrointestinal malignancies. He has been involved with AGITG activities for over 10 years as a trial investigator and member of the SAC.
Christine Liddy Christine Liddy AO
Christine is a Board Member and Past President of the Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia and Former National Vice President of the RFDS. She is also a member of the Board of The University of NSW Foundation and the Dame Pattie Menzies Foundation. She is also a Council Member of the Friends of the Sydney International Piano Competition, an Advisory Board Member of the Mosman Art Gallery and Cultural Centre, member of the Capital Campaign Committee of the State Library of NSW and the RFDS Capital Campaign Committee.
BoardPortraits6_Mary Padbury Mary Padbury
BA LLB (Hons)
Mary is Vice Chairman of Ashurst and partner in its intellectual property practice in Melbourne. She became Ashurst Australia’s chairman in 2005, re-elected 2008 and 2011, elected Vice Chairman of the global firm on the financial merger of Ashurst LLP/Australia from 2013. She previously worked in London at Bristows in 1985/86 and was resident partner of Ashurst Australia (Blake Dawson) in 2000/02. She is a member of Chief Executive Women and on the boards of the Burnet Institute, AGITG / GI Cancer Institute, Melbourne University Law School Foundation and the Professional Standards Board for Patent and Trade Marks Attorneys.  
 Eva Segelov Professor Eva Segelov
Eva is a Medical Oncologist based at St Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney, and a Clinical Academic at the Faculty of Medicine, UNSW. She has an interest in academic clinical trials in GI and breast cancer and has been a member of AGITG for over 10 years, including as Chair of the Medical Oncology subcommittee of the ASM Organising Committee. Eva is a member of the Lower GI working party, which considers and develops new trial concepts. She has clinical trials expertise and links with national and international trials groups, and extensive experience with adult medical education.
 Michael Gordon Mr Michael Gordon

Michael brings significant domestic and international experience as a leader of asset management businesses and is 30-year veteran of the financial services industry. He is an Non Executive Director of the Perpetual Equity Investment Company Ltd and a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Michael has held significant managerial and governance roles both in Australia and internationally.
Lorraine Chantrill Dr Lorraine Chantrill
B.Sc.(Hons) MBBS(Hons) FRACP PhD
Dr Chantrill, Senior Staff Specialist Medical Oncologist at St Vincent’s Hospital is the Clinical Director of Medical Oncology Clinical Trials at St Vincent’s Hospital.  She has served on the AGITG Upper GI Working Party since inception in 2011 and has chaired the Working Party since August 2014. She was appointed to the Board of Directors of AGITG in August 2016. Lorraine is co-chair of the AGITG/Australasian Pancreatic Club Pancreas Cancer Research Workshop (since 2013) and an executive  member of the Australasian Pancreatic Genome Initiative and the Australasian Pancreatic Club. She has recently been appointed to the Data Safety Monitoring Board of the Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group. She completed a PhD by research in the Pancreas Cancer Group at The Kinghorn Cancer Centre and has a special interest in the molecular biology of pancreas cancer.
David Watson Professor David Watson
David is Professor/ Head of Department of Surgery at Flinders University and Head of Oesophago-gastric Surgery Unit at Flinders Medical Centre. His research interests include clinical and biological aspects of benign and malignant oesophageal disease, including molecular biology of Barrett’s oesophagus and oesophageal carcinoma. David is a Past President of the Australia and New Zealand Gastric and Oesophageal Surgery Association.
Bridget Robinson Professor Bridget Robinson
BMedSc MD(Otago) FRACP
Bridget graduated in Medicine from the University of Otago, then undertook postgraduate training and MD research at the Royal Marsden Hospital and Institute for Cancer Research in London, before returning to a position as Medical Oncologist at Christchurch Hospital. Since 1998 she held a joint appointment at the University of Otago and the CDHB, and in 2010 was appointed to the Mackenzie Chair in Cancer Medicine. She initiated and directs the Cancer Society Tissue Bank to support research, and is clinical director of the Mackenzie Cancer Research Group. Her research interests include colorectal cancer, tumour stroma, effects of obesity, coagulation in cancer, familial cancer, and translational research, as well as clinical trials in cancer patients. Her clinical practice includes breast and colorectal cancers, neuroendocrine tumours, sarcoma’s including GIST.   She chairs the Canterbury Comprehensive Cancer Centre which links clinicians, scientists, patients, NGOs and the community.



Donate Now