Christine Bishop Director BA, LLB, BSc (Hons), M.Psychol (For) (Hons), M.FMH, FAICD, MAPS

Christine joined the AGITG/GI Cancer Institute Board  in 2021 following completion of her term as a member of the AGITG Consumer Advisory Panel. She spent 25 years in legal practice in a major city law firm. She subsequently  gained further qualifications that led to her joining the NSW Department of Juvenile Justice as a forensic psychologist for  eight  years.  She initially specialised in mental health before moving into a senior administrative role.


Christine is  currently a part time member of the NSW Mental Health Review Tribunal where she  has  served  for  twelve  years.  She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a member of the Sydney Symphony Council, Chair of the St James Foundation Limited and has served on several not-for-profit Boards in the Health, Community and Arts Sectors. Her most recent past directorship was with Odyssey House, serving ten years and retiring in December 2021.


In addition to a wealth of leadership and business experience, Christine has  extensive experience as a caregiver.  She supported her late husband, His Honour Alan Bishop, through his treatment for a rare GI cancer, Gastro-Intestinal Stromal Tumour (GIST).  Judge Bishop served on the AGITG/GI Cancer Institute Board from 2005 to 2010. Christine has also supported several of close relatives and friends who have experienced GI cancer.   Through this personal experience, Christine is keenly interested in improving treatment and survivorship pathways for GI cancer patients. The enjoyment of a reasonable quality of life, one that balances medical care, personal and psychological issues, should be the expectation during and post treatment. Christine has been a committed supporter of the AGITG organisation since 2005.



AGITG Committee Positions Member, Consumer Advisory Panel 2012-2021
Member, John Zalcberg OAM Award for Excellence in AGITG
Member, Research Selection Committee 2015>
Member, SSGXXII Trial Management Committee 2021
Deputy Chair, Fundraising & Communications Committee 2022>
Deputy Chair, Corporate Governance Committee 2022>