New Zealand Committee

The New Zealand Committee (NZC) aids the development and conduct of AGITG research in Aotearoa New Zealand. Its members are experts in the fields of medical oncology, radiation oncology, surgery translational research and allied health.

The NZC’s role is to identify AGITG developed clinical trials that may be of benefit to GI cancer patients in Aotearoa New Zealand, assess and explore the feasibility of Aotearoa New Zealand site participation and local funding.

NZC reports to the AGITG Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC).

The AGITG NZC is elected in accordance with the AGITG Constitution, Terms of Reference can be found here.

Meet our NZC members



Dr Anne O’Donnell
Medical Oncologist


Dr Ben Lawrence
Medical Oncologist

Dr Kirsty Danielson
Basic or Translational Researcher/Surgeon

Dr Iain Ward
Radiation Oncologist

Dr Jane So
Medical Oncologist

A/Prof Elizabeth Dennett

Ms Lindah Chikazhe
Study Coordinator

Dr John Mak
Medical Oncologist/AGITG Clinical Research Fellow

Mr Liam Willis
Executive Officer of Gut Cancer Foundation