Dr jennifer Mooi

Best of Posters and Fast Forward Awards, presented at the ASM

The AGITG Annual Scientific Meeting accepts abstracts for posters for selection by the Organising Committee. Posters are displayed in the exhibition area and four posters are chosen for presentation in the Best of Posters Session. The winner of the 2017 Best of Posters Award, supported by Ipsen, was Dr Jennifer Mooi of the Olivia Newton-John Cancer Research Institute for Exploring Consensus Molecular Subtypes (CMS) as predictors of benefit from bevacizumab in first line treatment of metastatic colorectal cancer: retrospective analysis of the MAX clinical trial.

“It’s an honour to receive an award like this from your peers in recognition of the work you’ve done,” said Dr Jennifer Mooi. “It gives me encouragement to keep going and know I am on the right track! Thank you to Ipsen for supporting these awards.”

The runner-up of the Best of Posters was Dr Margaret Lee of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute VIC for her poster and oral presentation ‘The potential of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) to guide adjuvant chemotherapy decision making in locally advanced rectal cancer (LARC)’.  Dr Lee receives $1,500 and a framed certificate.

The AGITG is grateful for sponsorship from Ipsen for the Best of Posters.

“At Ipsen, our commitment is to enhance patient care,” said Peter Koetsier, General Manager Australia and New Zealand, Ipsen. “We are proud that this contribution for Best of Posters is able to help recognise excellent research and positive outcomes for patients”.

This year the Fast Forward presentations covered a number of GI cancers including colon, neuroendocrine tumours, and colorectal cancers. These presentations are 3 minute explanations of participant posters.

Dr Melanie McCoy was this year’s Fast Forward winner for ‘The Cancer Stem-Like Cell Marker SOX2 is Prognostic and May Predict Response to Chemotherapy in Colon Cancer’

“It was a pleasure to present this work on behalf of Mr Tim Miller, who has recently submitted his PhD thesis and now plans to go on to study medicine.  To receive recognition from AGITG for our work is a great honour.”

AGITG Annual Scientific Meeting
L to R: Dr Melanie McCoy, Dr Jennifer Mooi, Dr Margaret Lee, Mr Peter Koetsier