Prof. Goldstein Recognised at NSW Premiers Cancer Research Awards

Congratulations to our former Board member, Conjoint Professor David Goldstein for receiving the ‘Prof. Rob Sutherland AO Make A Difference Award’ at this year’s NSW Premiers Cancer Research Awards.

Prof. David Goldstein is a leading researcher and clinician in the field of pancreatic cancer. His laboratory research has informed contemporary understanding of how the disease develops and spreads.

He was recognised through this award for his instrumental role in raising the profile of pancreatic cancer within the medical, surgical and radiation oncology professions and the public.

Hosted by the Cancer Institute NSW, the NSW Premiers Cancer Research Awards honour the achievements of the individuals and teams that work across the cancer research sector to lessen the impact of cancer for the people of NSW.

For more on the NSW Premiers Cancer Research Awards please  CLICK HERE.

NSW Premier’s Award for Outstanding Cancer Research

In addition, Central West Cancer Care Centre’s clinical trials unit, based at Orange Health Services, received the NSW Premier’s Award for Outstanding Cancer Research.

It is great to see the work being conducted by the Central West Cancer Care Centre’s clinical trials unit, who also recently won our Australasian Gastro Intestinal Trials Group (AGITG) Outstanding Site Award for 2017, being recognised by this prestigious award.

For the AGITG award Medical Oncologist Dr Rob Zielinski noted in the application

“We believe we are worthy given our ongoing commitment and enthusiasm to the ASCOLT clinical trial where we maintain the overall lead recruitment site in Australia and New Zealand. We also have worked very closely with the AGITG in setting up a pilot of a new clinical trial model that will open up the ASCOLT clinical trial to more regional and rural patients. This model is the Teletrials model and the pilot will be truly ground breaking as it will be the first of its kind in Australia.”

For more on the AGITG Best Site Award please CLICK HERE.