Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is the focal point for widespread discussion of research ideas. Its members, who are drawn from the AGITG and the NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre (CTC), are experts in the fields of medical oncology, surgery, radiation oncology, biological research, quality of life research, statistics and study coordination.

The SAC’s key role is to determine the research priorities of the AGITG. The committee’s open dialogue leads to the development of a common language, interaction and commitment to trials by a broad range of medical specialists, allied health professionals and consumers.

SAC meetings foster a spirit of collaboration between a diverse group of people who share a common goal: to improve patient care through GI cancer clinical trials.

Meet our SAC members


Professor Tim Price
Medical OncologistAGITG Chair


Professor Steve Ackland
Medical Oncologist

Professor Andrew Barbour
Surgeon | Deputy-Chair Upper GI Working Party

Doctor Lorraine Chantrill
Medical Oncologist | AGITG Director | Chair Upper GI Working Party

Professor Stephen Clarke
Medical Oncologist

Professor Michael Findlay
Medical Oncologist

Professor Val Gebski

Conjoint Professor David Goldstein
Medical Oncologist

Professor David Joseph
Radiation Oncologist

Mr Dan Kent
Cancer Survivor | AGITG Director

Professor Trevor Leong
Radiation Oncologist

Ms Christine M. Liddy, AO
AGITG Director

Ms Jan Mumford
Cancer Survivor | Chair, Consumer Advisory Panel

Professor Eva Segelov
Medical Oncologist | AGITG Director

Doctor Jennifer Shannon
Medical Oncologist

Professor John Simes
Medical Oncologist | AGITG Director | Group Coordinator

Doctor Katrin Sjoquist
Medical Oncologist

Mrs Anne Smith
Study Coordinator

Clinical Professor Nigel Spry
Radiation Oncologist

Doctor Andrew Stevenson
Colorectal Surgeon

Associate Professor Niall Tebbutt
Medical Oncologist | AGITG Deputy Chair | Chair – Lower GI Working Party

Professor David Watson
Upper GI Surgeon | AGITG Director

Professor John Zalcberg OAM
Medical Oncologist

Professor Nikolajs Zeps
Research Scientist